Steering Group

The steering committee runs the day-to-day activity of the platform. It also discusses proposals for external communication and views on policy. When necessary, the steering committee will consult the members.

The steering committee comprises 8 to 12 elected people who exercise their office personally. They contribute the expertise gained through their own organisations.

At the election of members, certain balances will be kept in mind:

  • Between academic institutes, NGOs, representatives of government services, other organisations (e.g. study bureaus) and individual members.
  • Between both Belgian national languages, with a minimum of 2 members of each language.
  • Between the sexes, with a minimum of 2 members of each gender.

The term of office is 4 years and is renewable. The renewal takes place every two years by one third to half of the members of the steering group who can give up their office for election. The positions of chairperson, vice-chairperson, secretary, treasurer and members are decided by the members of the steering group themselves.

Recent composition of the steering group:

Chairperson Elies Van Belle Memisa
Vice-chairperson & Coordinator Magalie Schotte Institute of Tropical Medicine

Other Members:

Marlies Casier

Xavier de Béthune
Substitute: Davide Olchini, Médecins du Monde

Thérèse Delvaux Institute of Tropical Medicine (ITM)
Substitute: Raffaëlla Ravinetto, ITM

Béatrice Futshu
Maison de solidarité des diabétiques au Congo (MSDC)

Aline Labat Ecole de Santé Publique, Université Libre de Bruxelles (ESP – ULB)
Substitute: Elisabeth Paul, Université de Liège – ULB

Ignace Ronse

Laure Speecke
Christelijke Mutualiteiten (CM) – Mutualités Chrétiennes (MC)

Stefaan Van Bastelaere
Substitute: Karel Gyselinck, ENABEL

Félix Vanderstricht
ULB Coopération, Université Libre de Bruxelles

Cathérine Dujardin Directorate-General Development Cooperation (DGD), Observer member
Substitutes: Hannes Dekeyser & Nicolas Larsen, DGD